Day 25 – Roma

It feels very strange to be writing my blog and not even think about my bike or cycling! A day off feels strange. Deserved I guess but I’m still not used to it. Although I did very much enjoy a lie in this morning.

My morning consisted of very little, except plenty of food and plenty of sun by the pool…

image

… so in typical Italian style my day started around 4pm. I took a stroll around Rome not planning on visiting anything specific just picking my way through the northern section. What I found was plenty of stunning churches…

image

image

… the disappointing trevi fountain (why do repairs in the middle of summer?!?) …

image

… the incredible views from piazza Venezia (I will explore more that way tomorrow)…

image

… the impressive pantheon…

image

… and the four ruins of temples at largo di torre Argentina…

image

… quite a lot in a small space in a little over 2 hours walking!

So today I wanted to go through some of my personal highlights of the trip using the classic top 5. So here we go.

Top 5 cities:

5. Lucerne (stunning views over the lake with a nice historic centre)

4. Maastricht (small town with lots of ancient walls and interesting places to visit)

3. Florence (stunning buildings around every corner)

2. Brugge (incredibly pretty, not too many tourists and easy to get around)

1. Rome (I know it was obvious)

Top 5 cycling routes:

5. Freiburg to Zurich (through the Black Forest)

4. Koln to Koblenz (along the Rhine)

3. Dunkirk to Brugge (via Ypres)

2. Hospental to Lugano (over San Gottardo)

1. Florence to Siena (through the Tuscan hills)

Top 5 baguettes:

5. Genoa (it got me up a lot of hills)

4. Lugano (small but mighty, very soft)

3. Brussels (a solid baguette)

2. Maastricht (great taste but a little too tough on the jaw)

1. Koln (cheap, soft on the inside but with a good crunch)

More top 5s to come.

Finally a little charity. I have enjoyed the journey despite its ups and downs and your support has been great. Alongside seeing some amazing parts of Europe this trip was also about raising some money for the people of Nepal. Many families are still stuck without clean water and food and thousands are still living in temporary accommodation. Your donations already have been incredible but I would love to get to £1000. If anyone can spare £5 or give up a couple of cups of coffee for the week it will make a huge difference! So please give anything you can:

https://www.justgiving.com/Leo-Maliphant2

Many thanks

Total trip stats

Miles – 1448

Speed – 13.5mph

Time in the saddle – 107 hours (4 and a half days)

Ascent – 36,736m

Calories burnt – 64,075kcal

INSANE!!!

Leave a comment