Day 24 – Orvieto to Roma

Rome, Roma. It sounds good however you say it or spell it. Over 6 months ago I got an idea in my head “I would love to go to Rome, what if I cycled there?” Just a crazy idea back then. But today it became reality…

image

… I’m shocked, stunned and shattered by the whole experience.

This should be my easiest blog yet but I have no words. No words to describe the joy, to describe the pain, to describe the anguish or to describe this surreal feeling!

I can’t quite comprehend that this is the end of my journey. A journey of 1448 miles (about 2400km), conquering 7 countries in 24 days. Through hills, vineyards and forests. Around lakes, cities and rivers. From sea level to 2100m and back again. Come rain, shine or intense humidity…

image

… it will take a couple of days to sink in. For my body to rest and recover and my mind to understand how crazy the last 3 weeks have been. The strange thing is I already miss the journey!

Certain days and places will stick with me forever but I can honestly say I don’t have a single regret. There were low points but they will quickly be pushed to one side, overshadowed by the incredible highs. There are places I will need to visit again to feel like I have seen all it has to offer but this trip has given me an opportunity to see more than I could have hoped for.

I would recommend it to anyone.

Going back to today, it didn’t start well.

Thunder and lightening delayed my start but only 5km in I was wishing for some cooling rain. The sun quickly evaporated most of the moisture from the road leaving an intense humid feeling. For about 10km I climbed in tough conditions. My bike was struggling as well for the first time all trip! The back tyre was losing pressure again and made it almost impossible to get up some of the steeper sections. The ascent was probably the steepest I had tackled all trip reaching 15% and more. I was left desperately gasping for air by the top.

The road didn’t relent from their as it continued to undulate all the way to Viterbo. 50km done. 80km to go!

Some air in my back tyre made a huge difference (thanks Tomi’s bike shop!) and I started to recover and enjoy the ride. Another 50km down and I started to spot some Roman signs…

image

… an ancient amphitheatre and caves.

Into the last 40km and the road decided to throw one more test my way. 15km of dual carriageway. I checked and rechecked the map but there was no way round so I tucked my arms in and time trialled my way through it! Not comfortable.

Now I was getting close. Can’t be more than 20km!

The road swept into civilisation. The very outskirts of Roma.

The final 10km was anticlimactic. No welcome to Rome signs. No Roman walls to pass through. No obvious signs I was in Rome but I knew I was there, nearly.

I carried on into the heart of the city, cycling past my accommodation. 5km. The first signs of Ancient Rome. A stunning bridge with monuments and statues.

3km, more old impressive buildings but not Roman.

1km and peaking out from behind some buildings I spot the coliseum.

Wow the last kilometre is staggering! Surrounded in history and Roman architecture I continue to the coliseum. That’s it!!! I’m here…

image

… the pain somehow seems to have disappeared. The journey seems small and simple. The backdrop makes it all worth it!

I gave myself 20 minutes to take it in. It was never going to be enough. But I’m not quite done yet!

10km back the way I came to a room, pool, bar and good meal. The legs didn’t seem to mind. The traffic lights did their best to extend my journey a bit longer! But that’s it! I’m here! No more cycling!

An hour by the pool, a pizza and a little bottle of prosecco to celebrate…

image

image

… and my day is done and with it my journey.

A tinge of sadness, a drop of contentedness, and a sprinkling of happiness. I am going to sleep well tonight.

I will continue to blog and catch up with bits I missed and things I find here.

But for now all I can say is that, for me, all roads do truly lead to Rome!

Good night all

Stats

Miles – 90

Speed – 13.7mph

Time in the saddle – 6 hours 30 minutes

Ascent – 2297m   Descent – 2543m

Track of the day – Europe – The Final countdown

4 thoughts on “Day 24 – Orvieto to Roma

  1. Wow! Congratulations… have loved reading every day from the comfort of my home. Fab photos, makes me want to visit too – enjoy your rest in Rome. Carolyn.

    Like

Leave a comment